Sunday, December 6, 2009

The Heisman

The Heisman Trophy used to be something really special. It is so hard to single out one player for this prestigious award, maybe it is not so appropriate now?

The team concept was always important but it used to be, I think easier, to single out the performance of one player. Maybe it isn't now?

I never saw candidates performance come down to one game like it did yesterday.

I felt a little sorry for Tim Tebew, he gave his heart and soul and came up short. Colt McCoy is a good player but I am not sure he is worthy of the Heisman.

That defensive player for Nebraska impressed me as much as any one player and that Inghram for Alabama really sealed the deal for them this year.

I don't know, glad it isn't my pick.

When you look back at past winners you find great players, has beens and even a known murderer in the bunch. I guess that is going to happen over time.
2007 Tim Tebow Florida (Quarterback)
2006 Troy Smith Ohio State (Quarterback)
2005 Reggie Bush USC (Running Back)
2004 Matt Leinart USC (Quarterback)2003 Jason White Oklahoma (Quarterback)2002 Carson Palmer Southern California (Quarterback) 2001 Eric Crouch Nebraska (Quarterback) 2000 Chris Weinke Florida State (Quarterback)1999 Ron Dayne Wisconsin (Running Back) 1998 Ricky Williams Texas (Running Back) 1997 Charles Woodson Michigan (Cornerback) 1996 Danny Wuerffel Florida (Quarterback) 1995 Eddie George Ohio State (Running Back) 1994 Rashaan Salaam Colorado (Running Back) 1993 Charlie Ward Florida State (Quarterback) 1992 Gino Torretta Miami (Quarterback) 1991 Desmond Howard Michigan (Wide Receiver) 1990 Ty Detmer Brigham Young (Quarterback) 1989 Andre Ware Houston (Quarterback) 1988 Barry Sanders Oklahoma State (Running Back) 1987 Tim Brown Notre Dame (Wide Receiver) 1986 Vinny Testaverde Miami (Quarterback) 1985 Bo Jackson Auburn (Running Back) 1984 Doug Flutie Boston College (Quarterback) 1983 Mike Rozier Nebraska (Running Back) 1982 Herschel Walker Georgia (Running Back) 1981 Marcus Allen Southern California (Running Back) 1980 George Rogers South Carolina (Running Back) 1979 Charles White Southern California (Running Back)1978 Billy Sims Oklahoma (Running Back) 1977 Earl Campbell Texas (Running Back) 1976 Tony Dorsett Pittsburgh (Running Back) 1975 Archie Griffin Ohio State (Running Back) 1974 Archie Griffin Ohio State (Running Back) 1973 John Cappelletti Penn State (Running Back) 1972 Johnny Rodgers Nebraska (Wide Receiver) 1971 Pat Sullivan Auburn (Quarterback) 1970 Jim Plunkett Stanford (Quarterback) 1969 Steve Owens Oklahoma (Running Back) 1968 O.J. Simpson Southern California (Running Back) 1967 Gary Beban UCLA (Quarterback) 1966 Steve Spurrier Florida (Quarterback) 1965 Mike Garrett Southern California (Running Back) 1964 John Huarte Notre Dame (Quarterback) 1963 Roger Staubach Navy (Quarterback) 1962 Terry Baker Oregon State (Quarterback) 1961 Ernie Davis Syracuse (Running Back) 1960 Joe Bellino Navy (Running Back) 1959 Billy Cannon LSU (Running Back) 1958 Peter Dawkins Army (Running Back)1957 John David Crow Texas A&M (Running Back) 1956 Paul Hornung Notre Dame (Quarterback) 1955 Howard Cassady Ohio State (Running Back) 1954 Alan Ameche Wisconsin (Fullback)1953 John Lattner Notre Dame (Running Back) 1952 Billy Vessels Oklahoma (Running Back) 1951 Dick Kazmaier Princeton (Running Back) 1950 Vic Janowicz Ohio State (Running Back) 1949 Leon Hart Notre Dame (End) 1948 Doak Walker Southern Methodist (Running Back) 1947 John Lujack Notre Dame (Quarterback)1946 Glenn Davis Army (Running Back) 1945 Felix Blanchard Army (Fullback)1944 Les Horvath Ohio State (Quarterback/Running Back) 1943 Angelo Bertelli Notre Dame (Quarterback) 1942 Frank Sinkwich Georgia (Running Back) 1941 Bruce Smith Minnesota (Running Back) 1940 Tom Harmon Michigan (Running Back) 1939 Nile Kinnick Iowa (Running Back)1938 Davey O'Brien Texas Christian (Quarterback)1937 Clint Frank Yale (Running Back) 1936 Larry Kelley Yale (End) 1935 Jay Berwanger Chicago (Running Back)


No comments:

Post a Comment